Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 01/14/14 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at MyDmn.com).print page facebook

2013: The Year David Sunshine Pioneers New Breakthroughs in Presenting Quality Fiction

  (January 14, 2014)
2013: The Year David Sunshine Pioneers New Breakthroughs in Presenting Quality Fiction

New York, NY (PRWEB) January 14, 2014

In a publishing industry with less and less use for literature every day, Morrow Wilson, author of David Sunshine, has used his latest novel to prove the reading public feels otherwise.

"If your allegiance is to literature and you're an American writer," says Morrow Wilson, "you're pretty much on your own. All the statistics I see lately indicate that the majority of American fiction is self-published. There are publishers who will not even look at a first novel, no matter who presents it to them.

"I'm not referring to what the book publishers call genre fiction, you know, Romance, Gothic, Mommy Porn, Chiclit, Kidlit. The book publishing industry has become a candy machine -- put in your money, pull the handle and out comes Beach Reading, Summer Reading and all of the above.


"I have dealt with well-established agents who want very much to represent literary fiction but who say their hands are tied if they cannot find a category to attach to the manuscript. Tell that to Cervantes or Tolstoy or Jane Austin."

So Morrow Wilson set out to prove there is still a market for serious fiction, using his latest novel as the subject of an experiment. Always disappointed with the way book publishers neglect modern marketing methods, the novelist created and carried out a sophisticated marketing plan that combined traditional methods with the new world of social media and the Internet in general.

David Sunshine has been the subject of both local and coast-to-coast AM radio, world-wide satellite radio interviews, online newspapers, Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, podcasts, Internet websites and blogs -- with the result that David Sunshine has not only found an audience, but is constantly developing new constituencies.

"The audience reads and moves on. Currently the book is selling to more and more young people. After all, a book is a one-time-only purchase. Unlike most consumer goods, once you have bought a book, you will not return to buy the same book again, though if you like this book you may be very interested in the next book by the same author. Thus, readers may not know the title, but they will ask for the latest Stephen King novel, the latest Grisham, the newest Mary Higgins Clark, The novelist, not the novel, becomes the brand,"

David Sunshine, a comic novel in the tradition of Dickens and Mark Twain, tells the story of an innocent young man who comes to New York City to make his way in the television industry of the 1960s. It is funny, heart-breaking, sometimes encouraging, as it pits its idealistic young hero against a more and more cynical industry and laughs at the hypocrisy and mindlessness of TV's movers and shakers.

David Sunshine has had only excellent reviews and is listed as a four-star book on Amazon and GoodReads has given it five stars.

All in all, though the marketing campaign for the book is not over, Morrow Wilson is pleased with the results so far. "Building an audience is one thing -- a very good thing --" says Morrow Wilson, "but learning about the remarkable new ways to reach readers is extremely satisfying."

"The book publishers themselves seem very confused by the Internet," says Morrow Wilson. "They fear it will destroy their business, don't know what to make of it, but if they want you to submit a manuscript, they'd like you to send them a PDF."

Read the full story at http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/01/prweb11455875.htm.


Page: 1


Related Keywords:


DMO TEXT LINKS
(Click here to place a textlink on this site)

Get 10 days of free unlimited access to lynda.com.
What do you want to learn today? Online video tutorials to help you learn software, creative, and business skills.
Click Here!


500 GB hard drives
Edge E540 20C6008QUS 15.6" LED Notebook - Intel - Core i7 i7-4702MQ 2.2GHz - Matte Black - Silver (4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 4600 - Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - 1366 x 768 Display - Bluetooth)
By Lenovo, start from $ 679.99
ThinkCentre M93p Small Form Factor Desktop (2.9 GHz Intel Core i5-4570T, 4 GB DDR3, 500 GB HDD, Intel HD Graphics 4600, Windows 7 Professional)
By Lenovo, start from $ 559.99
ThinkCentre M93z 10AF000FUS All-in-One Computer - Intel Core i3 i3-4130 3.4GHz - Desktop - Business Black (4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 4400 - Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - 23" Display - Wireless LAN - Bluetooth)
By Lenovo, start from $ 918.28
ThinkCentre M93p 10A7000BUS Desktop Computer - Intel Core i5 i5-4570 3.20 GHz - Mini-tower - Business Black (4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 4600 - Windows 7 Professional 64-bit)
By Lenovo, start from $ 839.99
X140e 20BL000BUS 11.6" LED Notebook - AMD - A-Series A4-5000 1.5GHz - Midnight Black (4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - AMD Radeon HD 8330 - Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - 1366 x 768 Display - Bluetooth)
By Lenovo, start from $ 389.99
ThinkCentre M73z 10BC000DUS All-in-One Computer - Intel Core i3 i3-4130 3.4GHz - Desktop - Business Black (4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 4400 - Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - 20" Display - Wireless LAN - Bluetooth)
By Lenovo, start from $ 694.99
HOT THREADS on DMN Forums
Content-type: text/html  Rss  Add to Google Reader or
Homepage    Add to My AOL  Add to Excite MIX  Subscribe in
NewsGator Online 
Real-Time - what users are saying - Right Now!

@ Copyright, 2014 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved